HomeWhat is Ivalua?How does an Ivalua implementation work?How does Ivalua certification work, who needs it, and what does it cost?

How does Ivalua certification work, who needs it, and what does it cost?

The short answer

The Ivalua Academy certifies consultants at three levels, L1 to L3. Ivalua’s 2023 contract terms require Level 2 to configure the platform and Level 3 for integrations. Ivalua does not publish a current price; a 2023 Ivalua document gave 400 per exam token, currency not stated.

What is Ivalua certification?

Ivalua certification is the proof, issued by Ivalua, that a person can work on its platform at a given level. It is run by the Ivalua Academy, an on-demand online programme. Ivalua’s contract terms use it as a rule: Level 2 to configure the platform, Level 3 to build integrations.

Ivalua’s Services page describes the Academy as a programme “that enables customers to be trained and partners certified on our solutions”. So the Academy serves two groups: customer teams, who learn to use and run the platform, and consultants at partner firms, who get certified. The Academy site is behind Ivalua’s extranet login, with a “Register for access” link. There is no public catalogue.

What are the Ivalua certification levels?

Ivalua’s Academy Program document, a 2023 version linked from its partners page, describes these tracks. Ivalua may have changed them since.

LevelWhat it covers (2023 document)Who usually takes it
L1 Solution OverviewAn overview of the solutionAnyone starting on Ivalua: consultants, key users, project managers
L2 AdminAdministration of the platformFunctional consultants and the customer’s run team
L2 Technical“SQL Data Model and Simple Integrations”Technical consultants, before Level 3 technical tracks
L3 by process areaSeparate tracks named P2R, SOU, CLM, SRM and INV, by process area (sourcing, contracts, suppliers, invoices…)Senior functional consultants and leads on that process
L3 INT (Interfaces and Automations)“XML and SOAP Queries, Complex ETLs, EAI, API”; needs L2 Technical and advanced SQL firstIntegration consultants who build the ERP and other interfaces
L3 SQLThe technical SQL trackTechnical consultants for reports, controls and data flows
PRM (Project Release Manager)The release manager track, free in the 2023 documentPeople who manage versions and releases on a project
Ivalua Academy certification tracks as named in Ivalua’s 2023 Academy Program document; the last column is my reading, not Ivalua’s

L1 is the entry. L2 is the bar to configure. L3 is the bar for integrations and for senior work on one process.

The same document gives the average effort per certification. It is about five days for an expert who knows source-to-pay and has worked on several Ivalua projects (two days for L1). It is 10 to 15 days for a junior. Technical L2 and L3 are “not feasible” for a junior with no SQL or integration experience.

Who needs Ivalua certification on a project?

Whoever configures the platform or builds its interfaces. In Ivalua’s 2023 terms, published in a US public contract (NASPO ValuePoint, State of Maine), the people who configure the platform need Level 2 certification, and Level 3 for integrations. If the customer hires a third party, that firm must be an Ivalua certified partner, or its people must hold the certificates (the terms say “and/or”).

  • Integrators and consultants. The configuration and interface work must be done by certified people. A 2026 job post for an Ivalua integration architect requires the Level 3 integration certificate.
  • Your own run team. If your staff will change the configuration after go-live, they need Level 2 too. Otherwise each change goes back to a certified partner or consultant.
  • Key users. They need training on the processes they test and use, not a certificate. The Academy offers customer training for that.
  • Public buyers. Groupe ADP’s 2026 tender for its Ivalua platform asks candidates for “nombre de consultants certifiés”, the number of certified consultants. Buyers can make certification a selection item.

How to choose the integrator or consultants who will hold these certificates is in Ivalua implementation partner.

How much does Ivalua certification cost?

Ivalua does not publish a current price. The only public figure is in its 2023 Academy Program document, still linked from Ivalua’s partners page in October 2026. One token pays for one certification attempt, at 400 per token, with no currency stated. The minimum order is three tokens, and volume discounts go from 10% to 40%. Partners buy tokens through their Alliances Manager at Ivalua, customers through their Customer Success Manager. The online training courses themselves are free; the certification exams are not.

ItemWhat is publicSource and date
Price of one certification attempt400 per token, currency not stated; 10% to 40% volume discountsIvalua Academy Program document, 2023
Example in the documentL1 + L2 Admin + L3 P2R = 3 tokens = 1,200 (no currency stated)Same document, 2023
Who buys the tokensPartners, through their Alliances Manager; customers, through their Customer Success ManagerSame document, 2023
ValidityOne year, renewed by a short free refresher (15 to 30 minutes)Same document, 2023
EffortAbout five days per certification for an expert, 10 to 15 days for a juniorSame document, 2023
Price in 2026, price for a customer or a freelanceNot publishedNo public source found in October 2026
Exam format in 2026Not published, beyond remote proctoring (see below)No public source found in October 2026
What is public about the cost and terms of Ivalua certification (checked October 2026)

The only public price dates from 2023 and has no currency. Ask Ivalua, or your partner contact, for the current terms.

How do you get Ivalua certified, and can a freelance consultant do it?

Through the Ivalua Academy. You need an Ivalua extranet account and an Academy account, which you request on the Academy site; in 2023 Ivalua checked each request by hand, which could take a few days. You then follow the online courses and sit the exam for each track. Higher tracks have prerequisites: L3 INT, for example, needs L2 Technical first.

Whether a freelance consultant with no partner firm and no customer behind them can buy tokens is not published. In the 2023 document, tokens are bought by a partner, through its Alliances Manager, or by a customer, through its Customer Success Manager. If you are independent, ask Ivalua directly, or get certified while working for a partner or a customer.

Exams are watched remotely. A 2025 case study by Constructor, the proctoring tool vendor, says Ivalua has used its tool since mid-2024, connected to BizExaminer, “Ivalua’s assessment partner”. Over 800 exams were reviewed. Twelve confirmed violations led to “the revocation of past certifications”.

What Ivalua training is there for customer teams?

Ivalua lists “Customer Training” and the Academy eLearning portal among its services. The courses are online and on demand, behind the same extranet login. Ivalua does not publish the course list.

Online courses teach the standard platform. Your users also need to learn your configuration: your approval rules, your forms, your supplier process. That training is often prepared by the project team with your key users, before each go-live.

How do you check that an Ivalua consultant is certified?

Ask for the certificate. Ivalua publishes no register of certified people, and it has no Credly page where badges could be checked. Ask each consultant for four things, then check with Ivalua if in doubt:

  1. The level and the track. “Level 3” alone is not enough. L3 INT for interfaces is not the same as L3 on contracts.
  2. The date. In the 2023 rules, a certificate lasts one year, with a free refresh. Ask when it was last renewed.
  3. The name on the certificate. A firm’s count of certified staff does not tell you who will work on your project.
  4. Practical questions. Ask how they would build one of your interfaces, or one of your approval rules. A certificate shows a level, not experience of a project like yours.

How many people hold one? Ivalua says the number of certified partners and consultants grew by 27% in 2025, to 3,100. Its 2023 Academy document said over 5,000 people had been certified. The two figures do not count the same thing in the same way, so treat any count as Ivalua’s own figure.

How do certified consultants fit into an Ivalua project team?

I am certified Ivalua L1, L2 and L3, since 2020 and still valid. I have worked hands-on on three full-cycle Ivalua implementations at BNP Paribas: v156, v164 and v182. I am not an Ivalua partner, and I do not speak for Ivalua.

When one person is not enough, I lead an Ivalua team from my network of about ten certified techno-functional Ivalua consultants, with one lead who answers to you. If you are an integrator short of certified people on a project, I also work inside integrator teams: see the page for Ivalua integrators.

Frequently asked questions

Short answers to the questions people ask, each one sourced above.

Is Ivalua certification free?

The online courses are free, the exams are not. Ivalua publishes no current price. Its 2023 Academy Program document priced one certification attempt at one token, 400 per token with no currency stated, bought by partners or customers through their Ivalua contact. The yearly refresher was free in that version. Ask Ivalua for the current terms.

How long is Ivalua certification valid?

One year, with a free annual refresh, according to Ivalua’s 2023 Academy Program document. The current rule is not published. Ivalua can also withdraw a certificate: a 2025 case study by its proctoring tool vendor reports twelve confirmed exam violations that led to past certifications being revoked.

Can I get Ivalua certified without working for a partner?

In Ivalua’s 2023 document, exam tokens are bought by partners, through their Alliances Manager, or by customers, through their Customer Success Manager. Nothing public says whether an independent consultant with neither can buy them. Access to the Academy needs an extranet account. Ask Ivalua directly, or get certified while working for a partner or a customer.

What is the Ivalua L3 INT certification?

It is the Level 3 track for interfaces and automations. Ivalua’s 2023 Academy document says it covers XML and SOAP queries, complex ETLs, EAI and APIs, and needs Level 2 Technical and advanced SQL first. Ivalua’s terms require Level 3 to build integrations, and job posts for integration roles ask for it.

Are you Ivalua certified?

Yes. I am certified Ivalua L1, L2 and L3, since 2020 and still valid. I have worked on three full-cycle Ivalua implementations at BNP Paribas. I can also bring a team from my network of about ten certified techno-functional Ivalua consultants. I am not an Ivalua partner.

Project already started? Check where it stands.

The health check scores your platform and your programme in three weeks.

See the health check
Seb Troz

Seb Troz

Certified Ivalua consultant (L1–L3). Three full-cycle implementations at BNP Paribas (v156, v164, v182), programme manager at Vallourec. Led a team of 13 on Rapsody at Société Générale. Engineer, ENSIMAG. About Seb

30 minutes. Your project, my honest opinion.

Tell me where your programme is today. After the call, you know the main risks and the next step, whether or not we work together.