Key takeaways
- Ivalua does not publish prices; public contracts give real figures, from a €730,000 maximum over 36 months for one French buyer to a $5.7 million Ivalua contract for the State of Maryland.
- In Forrester’s study commissioned by Ivalua, licence fees were about a quarter of the three-year cost; support, training and implementation made up the rest.
- Reported go-lives run from 8 weeks for a packaged procure-to-pay scope to six to ten months for a multi-module suite; no public contract or case gives a figure for a multi-country programme.
- The costs that grow are the ones outside the licence: integrations, data migration, your own team, and custom configuration charged again at every upgrade.
What does an Ivalua implementation cost?
There is no list price to quote: Ivalua prices each deal. Public contracts and one commissioned study give orders of magnitude. A smaller buyer’s licences and maintenance can stay under a million euros over three years, a large programme runs to millions, and the licence is the smaller part of the bill.
I do not publish the figures of the BNP Paribas programmes I worked on: they belong to the client. Everything below is public.
What have public buyers paid for Ivalua?
Public buyers publish their contracts, which makes them the only primary source of real Ivalua prices. Each figure covers a different scope, so they cannot be compared line by line.
| Buyer | What was bought | Value | Term | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| State of Maryland (USA), 2025 | A contract with Ivalua, Inc. for its eMMA platform through NASPO ValuePoint, at 59.6% off Ivalua’s published list pricing for software licensing and maintenance | $5,730,308 | Not stated in the notice | Maryland DGS procurement officer determination, June 2025 |
| Direction des Achats de l’État (France), 2022 | Third-party maintenance of the state’s procurement system APPACH, including taking over specific developments built by Ivalua | €3.83M estimated, €7.67M maximum | 48 months | BOAMP notices 22-47511 and 22-104514 |
| OPCO Atlas (France), 2026 | Ivalua licences (max €380k) plus maintenance and projects (max €350k) | €730k maximum | 36 months, one extension | BOAMP notice 26-89850 |
| EPFL (Switzerland), 2024 | An Ivalua integrator (“Intégrateur iValua”) | CHF 301,004.51 | Not stated in the award notice | TED notice 310199-2024 |
Real Ivalua spend runs from hundreds of thousands to millions, and French buyers contract the run after go-live for three to four years at a time.
How much of the cost is the licence?
About a quarter, in the only published cost model. Forrester’s Total Economic Impact study, commissioned and reviewed by Ivalua and published in May 2025, models a composite organisation with $1 billion of revenue, 300 procurement users and 10,000 suppliers over three years.
| Cost item (3 years) | Nominal ($) | Share of total |
|---|---|---|
| Implementation | 844,800 | 11% |
| Procurement licence fees | 1,705,000 | 23% |
| Professional services (maintenance and support) | 2,649,600 | 36% |
| Training | 2,198,020 | 30% |
| Total | 7,397,420 | 100% |
In this model the licence is about a quarter of the cost; what you spend around it decides the budget.
Three limits. The study was paid for by Ivalua, and its composite is one company profile, not an average. Its implementation line also counts the internal staff: 8 full-time people during implementation. And its training line looks counted twice: the printed total includes the first-year training amount once more than the yearly detail adds up to; without it, the licence share would be about 26%, still about a quarter.
A rough use of the ratio, not a forecast: if the composite’s proportions held for you, a three-year licence quote of €600,000 would point to a three-year total near €2.6 million (600,000 ÷ 0.23). Your scope, integrations and team change the ratio.
How long does an Ivalua implementation take?
Reported go-lives range from 8 weeks to about ten months, depending on scope, interfaces and how closely the project sticks to the standard. The cases below come from Ivalua and its partners, so they lean towards the successes.
| Case | Scope | Time to go-live | Conditions stated | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Maxim Healthcare | Procure-to-pay, cited in Ivalua’s launch of an 8-to-12-week procure-to-pay package | 8 weeks | Packaged procure-to-pay scope | Ivalua press release, March 2019 |
| HDF Energy | Source-to-contract: suppliers, sourcing, contracts; 49 users, 500+ suppliers | 3 months | No ERP interface at the start, standard adopted, client team available, fast decisions | Cyrias (integrator) case study |
| Forrester composite | Procurement suite, 300 users | 8 months in the model; 6 to 10 months reported by interviewees | 8 internal full-time staff | Forrester TEI commissioned by Ivalua |
| Groupe BPCE | Rebuild of its Ivalua platforms, 7,000+ users, 80,000+ supplier records | Three lots; durations not published | Standard as the base, gap analysis before each lot | Cyrias (integrator) case study |
Two to three months is possible for one scope on the standard without ERP interfaces; a multi-module suite takes six to ten.
For multi-country, multi-entity programmes I found no public contract or case with a duration. The closest data point is in the Forrester study: one interviewee’s organisation took two years to deploy its full scope. On the BNP Paribas programmes, the v156 and v164 cycles were delivered on budget and on schedule, and the v182 go-live was delivered on schedule; the durations stay with the client.
What goes into the cost beyond the licence?
Budget each of these separately; the licence quote covers none of them.
| Component | What drives it | Public evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Integrator or certified consultants | Scope, number of entities, departures from the standard | Ivalua’s terms require Level 2 to configure, Level 3 for integrations |
| Your internal team | Key users and process owners pulled from their day jobs | 8 internal full-time staff in Forrester’s composite |
| ERP and system interfaces | Number of flows, ERP versions, middleware | EnBW’s and RheinEnergie’s run contracts name the Ivalua–SAP interfaces as a workstream of their own |
| Data migration | Quality of supplier, contract and catalogue data | Maryland: a 22-week contract for data extraction alone |
| Training | Number of users and roles | $2.2 million of $7.4 million over three years in Forrester’s composite, as printed |
| Run and maintenance | Support levels, changes, hotfixes | French public buyers contract it for 36 to 48 months, Aéroports de Paris for 8 years |
| Upgrades | Complex configuration and integrations added after go-live | Charged at each upgrade under Ivalua’s 2023 terms; an upgrade is required at least every two years |
The licence is negotiated once; integrations, data, your team and every departure from the standard keep costing after go-live.
The map at the top of this page shows the flows a typical Ivalua programme connects. Each one is an interface to specify, build, test and keep working through every upgrade.
One aggregator, VendorBenchmark, publishes ranges from undisclosed engagements (April 2026): annual subscriptions of $185,000 to $340,000 for one module and $780,000 to $1.6 million for a full suite at Fortune 500 scale, with implementation at 80% to 140% of the first year’s subscription. Its method is not public: treat these as an aggregator’s estimate, not a benchmark.
How do you keep an Ivalua project in budget and on time?
The public cases that went fast share three habits, and the slow ones lacked them:
- Adopt the standard first and price every departure from it twice: once to build, once at each upgrade.
- Keep the key users available for design and acceptance testing, and decide in days rather than weeks.
- Start data cleaning and interface testing early, and write go/no-go criteria before the go-live date is announced.
If a programme is already running and the budget is moving faster than what is delivered, an outside read helps before the next steering committee. The implementation summary lists the other risks. My Ivalua health check gives that read at a fixed price, from €12,500 over three weeks; book a call to scope it.
Frequently asked questions
Short answers to the questions people ask, each one sourced above.
Why doesn’t Ivalua publish its prices?
Ivalua prices each deal on scope, modules and volumes, like most enterprise source-to-pay vendors. Public contracts show that list prices exist and are discounted: Maryland’s 2025 notice records 59.6% off Ivalua’s published list pricing for software licensing and maintenance.
Can Ivalua go live in three months?
For one scope, yes, in the public cases: HDF Energy went live on source-to-contract in three months, and Ivalua packaged procure-to-pay in 8 to 12 weeks. Both conditions matter: the standard adopted, and no ERP interface at the start for HDF.
Are upgrades included in the subscription?
Partly. Under Ivalua’s 2023 terms, Ivalua’s upgrade resources are included, but new features or modules are extra, and customisations or complex configurations and integrations added after go-live are charged at each upgrade. An upgrade is required at least every two years.
Is the Forrester study independent?
No. Ivalua commissioned it and reviewed it before publication; Forrester says it kept editorial control. Use its cost split as one model of where the money goes, not as a benchmark. Its own figures are not fully consistent: eight months of implementation in the model, six in another passage, and a training line that looks counted twice.
What does the run cost after go-live?
Public buyers contract it separately: EPFL CHF 301,004.51 for an Ivalua integrator; the French state up to €7.67 million over 48 months for the maintenance of its Ivalua-based system. In Forrester’s composite, maintenance and support were 36% of three-year cost.
Already running? Check where you stand.
The health check scores your platform and your programme in three weeks.
